Exhibition of photographs along the Quai Wilson | Broken Days - 2016

June 1st to 30th (Quai Wilson, Geneva)

Rendered fragile by its mutilated leg, Broken Chair is a symbol of all that Handicap International strives for. It remains standing with dignity, representing the struggle of victims of explosive weapons around the world.
These photographs focus on Handicap International’s struggle against barbaric weapons of war, and on the men, women and children they kill and wound.
Victims of anti-personnel mines, cluster munitions and other explosive remnants of war: visitors met Sayed, an innocent Afghan child who became a military target; or Aichan, from Laos, injured by a bomb as he worked in the fields.
From Syria to Colombia, from Afghanistan to Cambodia, this exhibition took visitors on a journey from weakness to strength, disequilibrium to stability, violence to dignity. It extends Broken Chair’s universal message of opposition to armed violence inflicted on civilians. Ithelps us all to reflect on our own responsibility to reject the unacceptable, and to take action.
At the same time, it pays homage to those photographers, professionals and amateurs, who, working with the organization, brought back such highly charged images and stories.

Broken Chair Expo | Broken Days

Du 1er au 30 juin 2016 (Quai Wilson Genève)

Fragilisée par son pied mutilé, Broken Chair est un symbole des missions principales de Handicap International. Elle tient encore debout avec dignité et représente le combat des victimes des armes explosives à travers le monde.

Victimes de mines antipersonnel, bombes à sous-munitions et autres restes explosifs de guerre: Les visiteurs sont partis à la rencontre de Sayed, cet enfant afghan innocent devenu une cible militaire, ou de Aichan du Laos, touché par une bombe alors qu’il travaillait au champ.

Cette exposition de photos portait un regard croisé sur les combats de Handicap International contre les armes de guerre barbares, et sur ces hommes, femmes et enfants, mutilés à travers le monde. De la Syrie à la Colombie, de l’Afghanistan au Cambodge, cette exposition a fait voyager ses visiteurs entre la fragilité et la force, le déséquilibre et la stabilité.

Elle prolonge le message universel de Broken Chair contre la violence armée faite aux civils et permet à chacun de développer une réflexion personnelle sur sa responsabilité de refuser l’inacceptable, et d’agir.

Elle est aussi un hommage à ces photographes, professionnels, amateurs, collaborateurs de l’association, partis sur le terrain et revenus avec des images et des témoignages poignants.