Broken Chair symbolises the fight to prevent armed violence against civilians during conflict.

Originally designed in 1997 to urge all the countries of the world to sign the Mine Ban Treaty, the Broken Chair project is the brainchild of the humanitarian aid organisation, Handicap International.

Founded in 1982 to assist 6,000 Cambodian refugees who had lost limbs to these weapons, Handicap International co-founded the International Campaign to Ban Landmines (ICBL) in 1992 for which it was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 1997, along with campaign’s other founders. In 2003, it helped launch the international coalition to ban cluster bombs. In 2016, the organisation engaged in a new fight: the prevention of armed violence against civilians.

Combining activities in the fields of advocacy, mine clearance, risk education and victim assistance, Handicap International is now at the forefront of global action against the explosive remnants of war - landmines, cluster bombs and other unexploded ammunition - that continue to contaminate former combat zones.

Demining, UXO clearance and prevention

Since 1993, in Cambodia, Mozambique, Laos, Afghanistan, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Lebanon, Chad, as well as Bosnia and Kosovo, Handicap International’s demining teams have been removing the threat posed by landmines, cluster bombs and other explosive devices and releasing land back to civilian populations.Handicap International also runs risk education projects and raises people’s awareness to the dangers of these weapons, especially for children.

© J.J. Bernard / Handicap International

Advocacy

It is Handicap International’s close involvement with affected populations and local partners that guarantees the legitimacy of its witness-bearing activities. Handicap International helped launch the fight against anti-personnel landmines in 1992 and cluster bombs in 2003. Today, the organisation is protesting against the use of explosive weapons in populated areas in violation of international human law. In the field, it works with local partners to promote disability rights and improvements to the living conditions of people with disabilities.

ONU© Genevetourisme-2

Victim assistance

Created in 1982 to provide orthopaedic devices and rehabilitation care for victims of anti-personnel landmines among Cambodian refugees, Handicap International has since perfected rehabilitation techniques adapted to emergency situations. During conflicts, the organisation delivers or reinforces care services for people with injuries. Specialist teams provide them with sustained support so they too can access social, educational, professional, sporting, civil and cultural activities and "stand tall".

© Jaweed Tanveer / Handicap International

Today, with over 300 projects in some 60 countries, Handicap International has expanded its mandate to cover all those in situations of disability or extreme vulnerability. Over one million people around the world now benefit from Handicap International’s support. In emergency and development settings, Handicap International champions their inclusion in aid and development initiatives.

In 2009, the eight national associations established over the years in France, Belgium, Switzerland, the United Kingdom, Germany, Canada and the United States created the Handicap International Federation, followed, in 2014, by the Handicap International Foundation. Find out about the activities of the association in your own country:

flags-uk-small

flags-us-small

flags-ca-small

flags-ch-small

flags-lu-small

flags-fr-small

flags-be-small

flags-de-small

Stay informed

Handicap International news

Sign the petition

Help ban landmines

Donate

to Handicap International in your country

Influence and Ethic

Handicap International and Handicap International’s Foundation's blog

Broken Chair symbolise le refus des violences armées infligées aux civils lors des conflits.

A l’origine du projet Broken Chair en 1997 se trouve l'organisation humanitaire Handicap International, qui voulait ainsi appeler tous les Etats à signer la Convention d'interdiction des mines anti-personnel.

Fondée en 1982, pour apporter une aide spécifique aux 6 000 réfugiés cambodgiens mutilés par cette arme, Handicap International est co-fondatrice en 1992 de la Campagne internationale pour interdire les mines (ICBL) - co-prix Nobel de la paix en 1997 - puis en 2003 de la Coalition internationale pour interdire les sous-munitions. En 2016, l’organisation s’engage dans un nouveau combat : le refus de la violence armée contre les civils.

Alliant les actions de plaidoyer, de déminage, d’éducation au danger et d’aide aux victimes, l’organisation est devenue l’un des leaders de l’action globale contre les « déchets de guerre » : mines, sous-munitions et autres munitions non-explosées qui polluent les anciennes zones de conflit.

Déminage et prévention

Depuis 1993, au Cambodge, au Mozambique, au Laos, en Afghanistan, en République Démocratique du Congo, au Liban et au Tchad ou encore en Bosnie et au Kosovo, les équipes de démineurs de Handicap International contribuent à la destruction des mines, sous-munitions et autres pièges explosifs, afin de restituer aux populations civiles l’usage de leur terre, libérée de la menace permanente des nombreux restes explosifs de guerre. Elles déploient également des projets de sensibilisation et d’éducation  aux risques auxquels les enfants sont tout particulièrement exposés.

© J.J. Bernard / Handicap International

Lobbying

La légitimité des actions de témoignages de Handicap International est son engagement auprès des populations et de partenaires. Handicap International s’est mobilisée contre les mines antipersonnel en 1992, puis les armes à sous munitions en 2003. Aujourd’hui, l’organisation s’élève contre l'usage des armes explosives en zones peuplées, qui ne respecte pas le droit international humanitaire. Sur place,  elle apporte un soutien à ses partenaires pour promouvoir l’amélioration des conditions de vie et l’exercice des droits des personnes handicapées.

ONU © Genevetourisme-2

Assistance aux victimes

Créée en 1982 pour offrir un appareillage et des soins de réadaptation aux réfugiés cambodgiens victimes des mines antipersonnel, Handicap International s’est spécialisée dans les techniques de réadaptation appropriées aux situations d’urgence. Lors des conflits l’organisation déploie ou renforce  des services de soin pour les blessés victimes de conflits. Des équipes spécialisées les accompagnent durablement  pour qu’elles accèdent aux activités sociales, éducatives, professionnelles, sportives, civiques et culturelles auxquelles elles ont droit,  pour leur permettre de "vivre debout".

© Jaweed Tanveer / Handicap International

Aujourd’hui - avec plus de 300 projets dans près de 60 pays - l’organisation a élargi son mandat à toutes personnes en situation de handicap ou de grande vulnérabilité. Plus de 1 million de personnes bénéficient de l'aide de Handicap International à travers le monde. Dans les contextes d’urgence aussi bien que de développement, Handicap International est le champion de leur inclusion au cœur des initiatives de solidarité internationale.

En 2009, les huit associations nationales établies au fil du temps - en France, en Belgique, en Suisse, au Royaume-Uni, en Allemagne, au Canada et aux USA - créent la Fédération Handicap International, puis en 2014 la Fondation Handicap International. Découvrez les actions de l’association établie dans votre pays de résidence :

flags-ch-small

flags-fr-small

flags-be-small

flags-lu-small

flags-uk-small

flags-us-small

flags-ca-small

flags-de-small

Informez-vous

Toute l’actualité de Handicap International

Signez la pétition

Non au bombardement des civils!

Faites un don

Faites un don à l’association Handicap International de votre pays

Influence et Ethique

Le blog de Handicap International et de la fondation Hanicap International