Broken Chair, the unsettling and dignified sculpture of the Place des Nations

The Place des Nations’ many visitors often wonder what “Broken Chair” symbolizes.
Disagreement between nations?
The gap between rich and poor countries?
The violence plaguing the planet?

Visible from the Palace of Nations’ “ambassadors' court”, made of Douglas fir wood, Broken Chair stands in delicate balance on three legs – the fourth having been violently blown off as if by an explosive charge. A way of showing that even mutilated, victims of war violence are still standing tall, with dignity.

History

It was on August 18th 1997 that the NGO Handicap International established – initially for a three-month period – artist Daniel Berset’s monumental sculpture in the Place des Nations, calling on all States to sign, in December in Ottawa, a treaty to ban landmines.

Broken Chair was a questioning though not choking evocation of these weapons’ many victims, and it would later embody the necessary vigilance of the citizens and civil society’s organizations, so that States deliver on the commitments they made.

Dismantled in 2005 for the renewal of the Place des Nation, its return was subject to a great uncertainty and a vigorous debate. It was settled at the very last moment, thanks to the support of many personalities and a diffuse attachment to this artwork whose renown had spread internationally.

When Broken Chair returned in March 2007, Handicap International decided to extend the symbolic force of the artwork, this time in support of the banning of cluster munitions, which were banned as well by the Oslo Treaty in December 2008.

More about Broken Chair 

Photo: © Handicap International

A global meaning

In April 2016, Handicap International decided to give the artwork’s presence on the Place des Nations a new meaning. Broken Chair now embodies:

  • The desperate but dignified cry of the civilian populations butchered by all kinds of armed violence, and the States’ obligation to protect them and rescue the victims;
  • The fierce ambition – which must mobilize policy makers and citizens – to durably accompany the persons, families and communities that are scarred, weakened or destabilized by conflicts, so that they can regain the autonomy to which they are entitled.

The Broken Chair sculpture both symbolizes fragility and strength, imbalance and stability, violence and dignity. Its presence in the Place des Nations allows everyone to develop a personal reflection about their responsibility to refuse the unacceptable, and to act.

Photo: F. Dumonal © Handicap International

Identity Card

  • Name: Broken Chair
  • Owner: The Handicap International federation, humanitarian organisation.
  • Author : Genevan artist Daniel Berset, from Bienne.
  • Project : Paul Vermeulen, co-founder of Handicap International Switzerland.
  • Carpenter: Louis Genève.
  • Engineer: Thomas Büchi.
  • Architects of the Place des Nation’s renovation: Arlette Ortis and Sandra Robyr.

Technical data

This twelve-meter high monumental sculpture is made of 5.5 tons of Douglas fir wood, a volume of 8.2 cubic meters. Made up of two removable parts, it had to be transported on site by special trucks, and was assembled using two cranes before being anchored to the square’s underground structure.
Initially erected at the center of the lawn, in front of the Palace of Nations’ main entry. Broken Chair was repositioned in 2007 on the same axis as before, facing the United Nations “Flags Valley”.
The redesigned Place des Nations was inaugurated on March 29th 2007 by Micheline Calmy-Rey, President of the Confederation.

Photo: PlaceDesNations©GenèveTourisme_OlivierMiche-4

Broken Chair, la sculpture troublante et digne de la Place des Nations

 

Les nombreux visiteurs de la place des Nations se demandent souvent ce que « Broken Chair » symbolise.
La discorde entre les nations ?
Le fossé entre pays riches et pauvres ?
La violence qui secoue la planète ?

Visible depuis la «Cour des ambassadeurs» du Palais des Nations, construite en bois de douglas, Broken Chair tient en équilibre instable sur trois pieds, le quatrième ayant été violemment éclaté comme sous l'effet d'une charge explosive. Une façon de montrer que, même mutilées, les victimes de la violence guerrière restent debout, avec dignité.

Historique

C’est le 18 août 1997, initialement pour une durée de trois mois, que l’ONG Handicap International installait cette sculpture monumentale de l’artiste Daniel Berset sur la place des Nations, appelant ainsi tous les Etats à signer, en décembre 1997 à Ottawa, un traité d'interdiction des mines antipersonnel.

Evocation interpellante sans être choquante des nombreuses victimes de cette arme, Broken Chair  incarnera ensuite l’indispensable vigilance des citoyens et des organisations de la société civile, pour que les Etats tiennent les engagements qu’ils auront contractés.

Démontée en mars 2005 en raison des travaux de réaménagement de la place des Nations, son retour avait fait l’objet d’une grande incertitude, nourrie par un vif débat. Il fut tranché in extremis grâce au soutien de nombreuses personnalités et l’attachement diffus pour une œuvre dont la renommée était devenue internationale.

Lors du retour de Broken Chair en mars 2007, Handicap International décidait d’étendre la force symbolique de l’œuvre en soutien cette fois au processus d’interdiction des BASM, les bombes à sous-munitions, qui furent à leur tour interdites par le Traité d’Oslo en décembre 2008.

Lire toute l'histoire

Photo: ©HandicapInternational

 

Une signification universelle

En avril 2016, Handicap International décidait de donner une signification universelle à la présence de Broken Chair sur la place des Nations, où elle incarne dorénavant :

  • le cri désespéré, mais digne, des populations civiles massacrées par toutes les formes de violence armée, et l’obligation faite aux Etats de les protéger et de porter secours aux victimes.
  • l’ardente ambition - qui doit mobiliser responsables politiques et citoyens - d’un accompagnement durable des personnes, des familles et des communautés meurtries, fragilisées ou déstabilisées par les conflits, pour leur permettre de retrouver l’autonomie à laquelle elles ont droit.

La sculpture Broken Chair symbolise à la fois la fragilité et la force, le déséquilibre et la stabilité, la violence et la dignité. Sa présence sur la place des Nations permet à chacun de développer une réflexion personnelle sur sa responsabilité de refuser l’inacceptable, et d’agir.

Carte d'identité

    • Nom: Broken Chair
    • Propriétaire : Fédération Handicap International, organisation humanitaire.
    • Auteur : Daniel Berset, artiste genevois originaire de Bienne.
    • Projet : Paul Vermeulen, co-fondateur de Handicap International Suisse.
    • Charpentier : Louis Genève.
    • Ingénieur : Thomas Büchi.
    • Architectes du réaménagement de la place des Nations : Arlette Ortis & Sandra Robyr.

Données techniques

D’une hauteur de 12 m, cette sculpture monumentale est réalisée de 5,5 tonnes de bois de douglas, soit un volume de 8,2 m3. Construite en deux parties démontables, elle a dû être acheminée sur place par transport spécial et assemblée à l'aide de deux grues avant d’être solidement ancrée à la structure en sous-sol.
Initialement érigée au centre de la pelouse, dans l’axe de l’entrée principale du palais des Nations, Broken Chair fut réinstallée sur le même axe en février 2007, face à la « vallée des drapeaux » des Nations Unies.
La place des Nations ainsi réaménagée fut inaugurée le 29 mars 2007 par Micheline Calmy-Rey, Présidente de la Confédération.

 

Photo: PlaceDesNations©GeneveTourisme_OlivierMiche-4